Holiday Reminds Iraq Vet About War, Coming Home

May 22, 2009 at 4:32 pm Leave a comment

This Memorial Day will be the third that East Greenwich native Curtis Mathews has celebrated since his return from Iraq in October 2006. His Rhode Island Army National Guard unit was deployed there in August 2005.

“I’m very glad that I went through this experience,” Mathews said. “It shaped me into what I am today, and it gave me a better appreciation for life. Apart from some bad dreams and memories that are not picture perfect, the good definitely outweighs the bad for me.”

But that isn’t to say it was easy for Mathews in Iraq.
For the full story, click here:  http://my02818.com/articles/2009/05/22/people/doc4a1678f59cdd6515512859.txt

Entry filed under: People.

Chalk Art Adorns Downtown Happy 79th Birthday Goddard Park

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Monthly listing of archived blogs


